Miracle on Ice (VIDEO)

Read about the Miracle on Ice

Lewis Hamilton Wins Formula One 2008

Lewis Hamilton Wins Formula One 2008 Lewis Hamilton made his Formula One debut in 2007, filling a vacant slot at McLaren, and enjoyed an outstanding rookie season, albeit failing by a single point to win the Drivers’ Championship after a series of calamities in the final two races of the season. However, in 2008, won five races, including a dominant, 68-second victory in the British Grand Prix at Silverstone and, despite picking up post-race penalties on five separate occasions throughout the season, pipped his nearest rival, Brazilian Felipe Massa, to the drivers’ title, again by an single point.

At the time, Hamilton, aged 23 years and 301 days, became the youngest winner Formula One World Drivers’ Championship in history, beating the previous record, of 24 years and 59 days, set by Fernando Alonso in 2005. However, his record lasted just two years, being surpassed by Sebastian Vettel, aged 23 years and 134 days, in 2010.

In the final race of the 2008 season, the Brazilian Grand Prix at Interlagos in São Paulo, Brazil, Hamilton qualified in fourth place, behind Massa, Jarno Trulli and Kimi Räikkönen. Before the race, Hamilton held a seven-point lead over Massa, so needed to finish in fifth position, or better, to win the championship.

On lap 69 of the 71-lap race Hamilton lay in fifth position but, having been forced wide by the already-lapped Robert Kubica at the final corner, known as Junção, was passed by Sebastian Vettel early on the penultimate lap and relegated to sixth position. Try as he might, Hamilton could not pass Vettel but, in the final sector of the final lap, both drivers – although, at the time, unbeknown to Hamilton, who thought he was overtaking backmarkers – easily passed fourth-placed Tino Glock, who Toyota was struggling badly on dry weather tyres, to give Hamilton his vital fifth-placed finish.

Watch Lewis Hamilton’s 2008 Triumph

Lewis Hamilton’s 2008 Triumph (VIDEO)

Read about Lewis Hamilton’s 2008 Formula One Win

England Wins Rugby World Cup 2003

England Wins Rugby World Cup 2003 Prior to 2003, England already had a respectable record in the Rugby World Cup, reaching the quarter-final stages in the inaugural tournament in 1987 and again in 1999, finishing in fourth place in 1995 and going down 12-6 to Australia in their first appearance in a Rugby World Cup Final at Twickenham Stadium, London in 1991.

In 2003, England completed a ‘Grand Slam’ in the Six Nations Championship with a 42-6 victory over Ireland at Lansdowne Road, Dublin and headed to the Rugby World Cup in Australia as ante post favourites and – as later confirmed by International Rugby Board (IRB) World Rankings, which began during the tournament – the best team in the world. Indeed, England easily topped Pool C with 19 points, including three bonus points, which were introduced for the first time in 2003, and a points difference of +208.

In the quarter-final, England recovered from a 10-3 first half deficit against Wales, thanks in no small part to the boot of fly-half Johnny Wilkinson, eventually winning 28-17, albeit in unconvincing style. Wilkinson, once again, came to the fore in the 24-7 semi-final victory over France, kicking five penalties and three drop goals in a match played in wet, windy conditions.

In the final, England faced hosts, and holders of the Webb Ellis Trophy, Australia, who had scored a surprise 22-10 victory over New Zealand in the other semi-final. England led 14-5 at half-time, courtesy of three Wilkinson penalties and an unconverted try scored by wing Jason Robinson. England dominated possession in the second half, but failed to score and were pegged back by three penalties kicked by fly-half Elton Flatley, including one in the final minute of normal time. With the scores tied at 14-14, the final headed into extra time; Wilkinson and Flatley traded penalties to take the score to 17-17 but, deep in extra time, Wilkinson kicked a right-footed drop goal to win the Rugby World Cup for England, 20-17.

Watch England Win the 2003 Rugby World Cup